thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » We’re All Survivors

We’re All Survivors

* I’m still in catching up mode. If you are a loyal follower of this blog, I offer my deepest apologies for not having posted for the last 10 weeks. See, about that time, I took on a new adventure of being a full-time substitute for an amazing high school social studies teacher who was on maternity leave. Clearly, some things had to go just to keep up with everything between school, our family, my photography, and my part-time work with our church. There just weren’t enough hours in the day to continue everything, so blog-posting was one that had to go on the back burner. However, I kept writing. It’s one of those things that I find I simply can’t not do. It just happens. So while I wasn’t posting, I was still writing. It’s time now to catch up. Thank you for sticking with me! 🙂 Here’s “We’re All Survivors” from June 25, 2015.

Here he is ... doing what he does, getting through the day - another day filled with overly stimulating situations, too many noises, too many people in too small a place. Yet here he is, a survivor in his own rite.

Here he is … doing what he does, getting through the day – another day filled with overly stimulating situations, too many noises, too many people in too small a place. Yet here he is, a survivor in his own rite.

WE’RE ALL SURVIVORS

The past few weeks have been full of disappointing news far and wide, from the church shooting in Charleston, South Carolina, to ill-timed mistakes, losses of friends and acquaintances to cancer, and news of more friends embarking on another battle with cancer.

There are a few bloggers I follow for various reasons, but my favorite by far is that of another spectrum mom, Diary of a Mom. Her dad recently became a widower as his wife’s battle with cancer came to an end. As they said their goodbyes at the end of a visit, he told his daughter, “I am a survivor. I owe it to whatever my life is going to turn out to be to live it.”

What a profound statement. It stuck with me in such a way I just couldn’t shake it. The more I think about it, I have begun to realize that we are all survivors in some way, shape or form. We all fight a different battle – some fight cancer; some fight depression; others battle self-doubt and any other host of conditions. Some are survivors of hurtful relationships, poor parenting, or less than good choices. Others are survivors of injuries, or accidents. At the end of the day, I most generally feel like a survivor for just getting through it with all of us and our relationships still intact. Please don’t mistake my analogies for a comparison between what we face and the atrocities of dealing with the loss of a loved one from cancer, my point here is that we are all survivors of something or another. Some of us thrive despite the challenges and others struggle, but we survive.

As I take on different challenges today, whether it be mechanical failure with something I thought sure was going to work just fine or the frustrations that come for a son on the autism spectrum, I’m doing my best to take a deep breath and remember that we are survivors. We owe it to whatever our lives are going to turn out to be to live them.

Leave a Reply

