thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » Thanks to All Who Serve

Thanks to All Who Serve

* I have some catching up to do. If you are a loyal follower of this blog, I offer my deepest apologies for not having posted for the last 10 weeks. See, about that time, I took on a new adventure of being a full-time substitute for an amazing high school social studies teacher who was on maternity leave. Clearly, some things had to go just to keep up with everything between school, our family, my photography, and my part-time work with our church. There just weren’t enough hours in the day to continue everything, so blog-posting was one that had to go on the back burner. However, I kept writing. It’s one of those things that I find I simply can’t not do. It just happens. So while I wasn’t posting, I was still writing. It’s time now to catch up. Thank you for sticking with me! 🙂 Here’s “Thanks to All Who Serve” from May 28, 2015 – seems pretty appropriate so near the 4th of July as well!

flag

THANKS TO ALL WHO SERVE

I have forever been proud to be an American. I especially enjoyed my summer living and working in Washington, D.C. It was, in short, amazing to be a local, but still have the awe and wonder of a tourist. To make it better, my roommate was a local and two of my college friends were in close proximity that summer as well. Sunset concerts, military parades, museums, weekend jaunts to neighboring states…many memories were made that summer to say the least.

Twenty two years later, I still recall sitting on the lawn of the mall soaking in the sights and the sunshine on a warm 4th of July, anticipating what would likely be the biggest fireworks display I would ever witness. The silhoutted Washington Monument in a night sky lit with fireworks is an image that will forever stir my soul as I drag it from my memory bank.

My life is completely different from those carefree college days but patriotism and respect for those who serve are still high on my priority list. Perhaps it’s the few stories I’ve heard my father and father-in-law tell of their service years or perhaps it’s the fact that our oldest son is nearing the age of accountability in terms of a draft, should we ever find ourselves in such a situation, maybe it’s other life situations, I don’t know for sure, but I just find these last few years that I appreciate the service of our military men and women and their families more than ever.

A friend recently shared with me that her son had been deployed, but that their family says he is on vacation while his wife has been deployed because she is the one who is home with two pre-school aged sons while he is on assignment in a safe area. We all laughed, but I have to admit, being a former stay-at-home mom of multiple little people, I understand the sentiment. Of course, this was in no way to undercut the value of his service or sacrifice, it was simply a way to show how very much my friend appreciates all her daughter-in-law does as well.

As our family grows, I often think of our military friends and the sacrifice the entire family makes. Again, I am not discounting the service of the deployed one at all, but I do recognize that those left behind are also serving. The parent at home becomes the only parent home. The kids miss the parent who is gone, some young enough that they may not even recognize mom or dad when they return. I can’t even imagine, but I am so thankful that these families are willing to make the sacrifices they do.

Leave a Reply

