thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » My Life as Mom

My Life as Mom

* I have some catching up to do. If you are a loyal follower of this blog, I offer my deepest apologies for not having posted for the last 10 weeks. See, about that time, I took on a new adventure of being a full-time substitute for an amazing high school social studies teacher who was on maternity leave. Clearly, some things had to go just to keep up with everything between school, our family, my photography, and my part-time work with our church. There just weren’t enough hours in the day to continue everything, so blog-posting was one that had to go on the back burner. However, I kept writing. It’s one of those things that I find I simply can’t not do. It just happens. So while I wasn’t posting, I was still writing. It’s time now to catch up. Thank you for sticking with me! 🙂 Here’s “My Life As Mom” from May 14, 2015.

I used to absolutely love the transition from spring to summer. The weather getting warmer brought a new spring to my step and all the things we could do outside, including finally getting some fresh air after the long winter, it’s just always refreshed me.

However, as our kids grow and become more involved in school and summer activities, this has quickly become one of the busiest times of year for me and I find myself stretching my neck simply to keep my head above the water so I can just keep swimming. Part of this, too, is due to my own work situations, but it’s mostly because of the kids’ different activities.

Hear me out, I am not complaining! I absolutely love that they are so active!! The bleacher buddies I have made in the gyms and ballparks across Fulton County over the last eight years are some of my most treasured friends. The parents that I continually spend time with and visit with at various track meets, baseball, softball, basketball, and volleyball games, they get it. We’re all in this together.

Generally, I feel like I do a pretty good job of keeping up with everyone and even on the nights that it takes multiple families to help us get our middles where they need to be and our little people watched over and entertained, all while we enjoy milestone moments with our oldest, I feel like we are managing just fine. However, I do have those moments in which I wonder if I’m really keeping up at all. Such was the case Sunday morning.

I was enjoying the sweet harmony of four of our children singing a favorite song in rounds when I looked down and noticed my nails. I’m not one to spend hours in a salon (see above for reasons as to why), but I do try to keep myself presentable. I noticed my left hand, nicely manicured with painted nails, and my right, not so much looking like it had had any attention in the last several weeks, complete with uneven nails, stretched cuticles, and chipped nail polish from the last attempt at beauty, which has now been more than a week ago. And then I remembered my toes. Thankfully, I was not wearing open-toed shoes, because they displayed remnants of the last two attempts of at-home pedicures. Yep, I was a multi-colored, chipped up mess. But, my kids were laughing and singing and we were headed to church to worship together, so I was smiling, and perhaps laughing at myself just a bit, or a lot.

It's true, I'm sometimes multi-colored and chipped around the edges.

It’s true, I’m sometimes multi-colored and chipped around the edges.

Parenting is messy. Sometimes, it’s because of behavior. Sometimes, it’s because of physical or intellectual challenges. And sometimes, life just gets in the way of all we think we need to do to keep up appearances. Most often, these are the situations in which I am reminded of what is truly important and those are my most grateful moments.

Leave a Reply

