thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » Play Ball!

Play Ball!

* I have some catching up to do. If you are a loyal follower of this blog, I offer my deepest apologies for not having posted for the last 10 weeks. See, about that time, I took on a new adventure of being a full-time substitute for an amazing high school social studies teacher who was on maternity leave. Clearly, some things had to go just to keep up with everything between school, our family, my photography, and my part-time work with our church. There just weren’t enough hours in the day to continue everything, so blog-posting was one that had to go on the back burner. However, I kept writing. It’s one of those things that I find I simply can’t not do. It just happens. So while I wasn’t posting, I was still writing. It’s time now to catch up. Thank you for sticking with me! 🙂 Here’s “Play Ball!” from April 23, 2015.

all of me

PLAY BALL!

Major league baseball opening day has come and gone so it only seems fitting that I started who’s going to play for what team early due to the sparsely populated area in which we live. So it is baseball has taken up a great deal of our conversations of late. So much so that it’s carrying over into. I got a very excited to go explaining and interaction she had with him. Now it’s important to remember at this point that social interaction and particularly conversations are very difficult for most people. On the spectrum. Then does pretty well and is making progress every day and Social situations but  The art of conversation is one which still eludes him. And so it was bent was in with his speech therapist getting ready for their time together. He noticed her fingernails had jam berry wraps on the decorative stickers if you will widget here to the fingernail to reflect one’s interest. He commented to his therapist I like your fingernails. She responded with thank you. What is on my fingernails been responded soccer balls she explained know their baseballs and waited no comment but she recalled what we had told her about his excitement so she asked him are you going to play baseball this summer been? He very excited they responded yet I’m going to play ball. I’m going to hit a home run!

Home run or strike out, that conversation on that day was a home run indeed!

Leave a Reply

