thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » The Show

The Show

* I have some catching up to do. If you are a loyal follower of this blog, I offer my deepest apologies for not having posted for the last 10 weeks. See, about that time, I took on a new adventure of being a full-time substitute for an amazing high school social studies teacher who was on maternity leave. Clearly, some things had to go just to keep up with everything between school, our family, my photography, and my part-time work with our church. There just weren’t enough hours in the day to continue everything, so blog-posting was one that had to go on the back burner. However, I kept writing. It’s one of those things that I find I simply can’t not do. It just happens. So while I wasn’t posting, I was still writing. It’s time now to catch up. Thank you for sticking with me! 🙂 Here’s “The Show” from April 9, 2015:

IMG_0129

If you missed the Abingdon-Avon Music Department’s presentation of The Wizard of Oz, you missed quite a show, and that is the understatement of the season! I don’t know anyone unfamiliar with the Oz storyline, so it may be easy to think you didn’t miss much. All I can say is you’d be wrong in your thinking.

A couple of different people mentioned to us that because they were familiar with the story, they weren’t terribly excited about it, but they’d go because they knew our sons and a few others who would be performing and they enjoy encouraging the young people of our community. They quickly followed that sentiment with a rousing, “but WOW! What a show!!” I couldn’t agree more. I’m so proud of those kids, especially the cowardly lion and the mayor of Munchkin City, but truly all of them. The hours upon hours that go into a production of that caliber is unreal, particularly in addition to staying on task with homework, maintaining good grades, and keeping up with training for track season, FFA events, and scholastic bowl meets to name a few. I can’t thank the adults in charge of these different groups enough for working together to make it possible for students to be well rounded and not just participate in a variety of activities, but to excel in them. It takes a tremendous amount of effort from everyone, but none of it was in vain. The performance was superb!

However, one of the most remarkable parts of the weekend for us came before we headed to Stockdale Auditorium. Our youngest proclaimed, “It’s time to go to the show!” Ben stopped mid-drawing, stood up and asked, “The show!?”

Without waiting for a response, he continued, “The show! I will get my ears and sit backstage while Thomas sings Zip-A-Dee-Do-Dah and I will come out on stage and I will wave and dance and when my song is over I will take a bow and say ‘Thank you! Thank you very much! Mommy I’m ready to sit down now.’ and you will come help me down the stairs and we will sit down and watch the rest of the show and that will be GREAT!”

Whew! That’s a mouthful for anyone, but especially one who struggles with communication and expressing what is on his mind! Some of you may be wondering where in the world he came up with such a thing while others recall it well. This is exactly what happened during the Spoon River Rascals’ performance of The Music of Disney during the Spoon River Drive ten months ago. All this reminds me yet again how vital music is a part of our upbringing and education, regardless of whether or not we spend a lifetime working in the music industry. Thank you Ms. Paula, Mrs. Roberts, Mrs. Rakestraw and every single parent who has ever helped in any way to make these productions possible for our kids. Thank you for your efforts and for your patience in dealing with children (Mercy, there are many!!) and simply for believing they can do this – even the kids like Ben. These experiences go so far beyond the weekend on the stage living in the memories of all the kids, but even more so for Ben as they open up a whole new way for him to communicate with us, to invite us into his world and for us to draw him into ours.

Leave a Reply

