thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » Beautiful Is As Beautiful Does

Beautiful Is As Beautiful Does

“I’m not beautiful like you, I’m beautiful like me.” – www.mesmerizingquotes.com


 

We are all hit with defining moments in our lifetimes.  Sometimes it’s a birth, sometimes it’s a death, and sometimes, the seemingly ordinary moments in between.

Our son often apologizes for things I have no idea even happened.  He could be happily playing along when suddenly he looks stricken with grief and comes to me with sadness saying, “I’m sorry, Mommy.  I’m sorry.  I’m sorry.  I’m sorry.”

I have no idea what brings this on, or even if it is over something that has actually happened which he has just remembered, or if he is scripting, reciting lines from a favorite movie or story.  But I can tell you that the sentiment is sincere, even if within the confines of the script.

This may seem a bit strange to some, but it is our reality.  I’m ashamed to admit, I used to try to squelch this routine, to stop him from apologizing over something we are unaware, but then I realized that there are so many who never apologize for their actions and words when they have caused pain in this world, that perhaps we’d all live a happier life if more people lived a bit like Ben, apologizing when the moment hit us, regardless of whether others would understand or not.

And the moments that follow the heartfelt apology are nothing short of beautiful.  It is in those moments that our son will make eye contact, offer his apology, allow us to reassure him, and share a hug to seal the deal.  I am reminded then that our lives and our defining moments are as varied as the personalities with which we are all created, and we are all beautiful.

Image

Leave a Reply

