thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » THANK YOU

THANK YOU

I’ve come in contact with some pretty amazing people both on and off the spectrum since we began this adventure.  As is common with the times, I’ve become Facebook friends and kept in touch with other parents we’ve met along the way. I occasionally see posts thanking other kids or other kids’ parents for the kind way they treated their child.

In the beginning, this made me smile because I know how truly grateful the parent is. I’m also encouraged that there are kids out there who see past the quirks and get to know our kids.

Then, I started getting mad when I would see posts like that thinking that our special needs kids are being degraded every time a post like that was made as if somehow the friendship alone wasn’t good enough, rewarding enough on its own to be warranted.

I think perhaps it’s all part of that grieving process I mentioned last week. Like it or not, perhaps I’m still going through the process of accepting our spot on the spectrum.

Perhaps I’ve come full circle, or at least close, as I’ve found myself thinking through all of this lately and I’m finding myself at a different place, yet again. Today I’m thinking what a better place this big old world of ours would be if we all said, “Thank you.” more. Thank you for being my friend. Thank you for being the kind of friend who goes the extra mile. Thank you for being the one who walks in when the whole rest of the world walks out. Thank you for loving me for who I am, not for who you want me to be or who you think I can become, but just for who I am. Thank you. From the bottom of our hearts, thank you.

Image

Leave a Reply

