thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » The Sweetest Words I’ve Ever Heard

The Sweetest Words I’ve Ever Heard

Image

 

As parents we all long for the day we’ll hear our kids say, “I love you.” and a host of other phrases. Special needs parents may never hear a single word. That doesn’t mean there isn’t a bond between parent and child or a love shared, they just have to find another way to communicate.

We are very blessed that Ben can talk and we occasionally even get little conversations. He expresses himself, usually in a way we can understand and shares his wants and needs with us.  Communication skills are emerging.

I’ve been doing some subbing in local schools lately. Last week, I had the opportunity to work in Ben’s school. We weren’t real sure how he would handle mom being in the building, much less the room across the hall, but he did great. Lots of smiles and high fives came my way. That’s good for this mom’s heart.

We happened to have lunch at the same time.  One of his sweet classmates asked me several times if I’d have lunch with them. She even saved me a seat between her and Ben, so I stopped to chat with my boy.

“Hey, Ben.”

“Hi, Mommy.”

“Are you having a good day?”

“Yea.  Chicken strips.”

“Oh, are you going to eat chicken strips for lunch today?”

“Yea.”

His sweet little friend asked once again if I’d sit with them and proudly showed off the spot she’d saved. So I asked, “Ben, would you like mom to sit with you or go away?”

Without hesitation,”Go away.”

Go away?  He does let me snuggle with him sometimes, but my son just told me to to away!  I was nearly in tears, not the hurt, crushed ego tears, the oh my goodness he’s comfortable and confident and secure enough in who he is and where he is and what he’s doing that he wants me to go away!!!!  

My boy told me to go away in the sweetest way possible and my heart couldn’t have been happier.   And to his precious friend who saved me a seat, we will done together someday, my dear. You have my word.

2 Comments

  1. lilkaraphael says:

    It is amazing how we pray for our babies to talk and then when they do it can be surprising, inspiring and even down right funny. Congrats on the milestone and many more to come 🙂

  2. I love this post! My son just turned 3 and doesn’t have any words yet and I think I would do a backflip if my little man told me to go away. I love the confidence and cuteness and I totally get your feelings. SImply awesome!

Leave a Reply

