thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » When You Say Nothing At All

When You Say Nothing At All

Image

There was a popular love song years and years ago which proclaimed to the one addressed:  You say it best when you say nothing at all.  As a wordy teenager exploring the world of the written word and that of the dating scene, I wondered if that was even possible.  As a budding college-aged journalist, I met my match and found the one with whom I’d share my life and learned, yes, sometimes saying nothing says so much more than any words could.  However, it wasn’t until we became a spectrum family, and had a child who couldn’t express himself that I learned how fully one could communicate without words.

 

The song states:

It’s amazing how you can speak right to my heart

Without saying a word you can light up the dark

Try as I may I could never explain

What I hear when you don’t say a thing

The smile on your face lets me know that you need me

There’s a truth in your eyes sayin’ you’ll never leave me

The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me if ever I fall

You say it best when you say nothing at all

All day long I can hear people talking out loud

But when you hold me near, you drown out the crowd

Old Mr. Webster could never define

What’s being said between your heart and mine

The smile on your face lets me know that you need me

There’s a truth in your eyes sayin’ you’ll never leave me

The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me if ever I fall

You say it best when you say nothing at all

It’s a wonderful sentiment when considering the relationship you share with your love, but extrapolate that onto the relationship between you and your child who cannot express himself through words, and it takes the heart to a whole new level.

Imagine not hearing your child say, “Hi, Mom!” every time he bolted through the door, or even more importantly, “I love you, Mommy.” each night as you tuck him into bed.  Imagine how precious the few seconds of eye contact you can catch in a day would become when that is the only way to connect with him on a heart level.

We are so thankful and Ben is so fortunate that we were able to get him into speech therapy through early intervention services and get a diagnosis before kindergarten so he would qualify for the Intensive Therapeutic Autism Program at Easter Seals.

Thanks to the work of many, I still recall the day our son ran to me and said, “I love you, Mommy.  I love you.  I love you.  I love you!”  While it seemed out of the blue, the truth is he’d been watching an episode of Barney, but he made the connection to what he’d been hearing and was finally able to verbalize that sentiment to me.  I’d waited four very long years to hear those words in my son’s little voice.  And now, I’m blessed to hear it nearly every day.  Yet, in those early years, even when I didn’t get to hear the spoken words, I knew it was true.  I knew he loved me because I listened to his heart.  Sometimes, if we listen really, really close, we can hear what someone says even when they say nothing at all.

1 Comment

  1. Suzanne says:

    Beautiful post and so very true.

Leave a Reply

