thespectrumscene

Home » Uncategorized » Indomi-WHAT!?

Indomi-WHAT!?

“Strength does not come from physical capacity.  It comes from an indomitable will.”       – Mahatma Gandhi

Indomi-what?  Yes, I looked it up.  I had to.  Indomitable – impossible to subdue or defeat.

Yep, that pretty much sums it up.  Our son is indomitable.  He has autism.  It does not have him.

He works hard at school just to be able to sit in his seat and focus on the directions for each assignment.  He works hard to sit in his seat and eat his lunch.  He works hard just to do what seems so natural to other kids.  We work hard to teach him how to talk and play.  We work hard to help him focus after an already long day of focusing, just to get through his homework.

Homework in kindergarten, how tough can it be?  Do you have autism?  Do you know what it’s like to have every sensor in your system picking up on something different at the same time? I don’t either, so I can’t begin to explain it, I just know that some days are easier for him to focus than others and we love him through it and keep working toward better days.

I read an e-card tonight that made me smile:  “My child having autism means that he thinks like a few of the people who changed the world we know today. (Einstein, Mozart, Newton)  Who knows, in the future my child may change the world.”

I love it…so much so I knew I had to share it here.  But I have to add another sentence to it.  It’s okay, it’s an e-card, not a biblical passage.  Here’s the revised version:  “My child having autism means that he thinks like a few of the people who changed the world we know today. (Einstein, Mozart, Newton)  Who knows, in the future my child may change the world.  He’s already changed ours.”

That he has, and so much for the better!  I see things so differently now than before.  I treasure the moments far more than before.  And believe it or not, I am so much more patient and relaxed than ever before.  I used to pray for patience, asking God to teach me to be more patient.  And then He sent Ben.  I no longer ask for patience.  Now, I thank Him for the peace He gives to carry us through our days on the spectrum and treasure the moments we are blessed to enjoy.

Life isn’t always easy, but I don’t think it’s necessarily meant to be.  I learn so much more through the struggles than I ever do in the smooth sailing days because that is when I am reminded to look beyond myself, and discover just how indomitable our boy is and in turn, has taught me to be.

Leave a Reply

